National Fastener Distributors Association
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
2021 Fastener Professional of the Year Virtual Celebration
Friday, September 10, 2021, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EDT
Category: NFDA Meetings

Join us in a virtual celebration honoring Jim Derry, 
NFDA's 2021 Fastener Professional of the Year

Friday, September 10, 2:00 - 3:00 pm ET

This is a free Zoom event with presentations given by:

  • Don Nowak
  • Bill Derry
  • Adam Derry
  • Melissa Patel
  • Jim Ruetz
  • and more

Attendee list

Registration is free, but RSVP is required.

Official Press Release

Jim Derry Awarded NFDA’s 2021 Fastener Professional of the Year Award

The National Fastener Distributors Association is pleased to announce the 2021 recipient of its Fastener Professional of the Year award is Jim Derry of Field (Machesney Park, Illinois).

The Fastener Professional of the Year award was created by NFDA to honor individuals and companies that make a substantial positive impact on people’s lives. The inaugural award in 2017 was presented to Robbie Gilchrist of Capital Marketing (High Point, North Carolina). In 2018 Jim Ruetz of AIS (Franksville, Wisconsin) was honored, in 2019 Kevin Queenin of Specialty Bolt & Screw (Agawam, Massachusetts) received the award, and in 2020 Don Nowak of Falcon Fastening Solutions (Charlotte, North Carolina) was honored.

In her nomination of Jim to receive this award, Melissa Patel of Field said, “When I joined the organization, I was 18 years old and didn’t have the slightest clue what I wanted for the trajectory for my career. Quite early on it was very evident how passionate, results-oriented, and competitive Jim was. It was a tremendous example of what to aspire to be when I grew up!”

Jim and his brother Bill purchased Field Fastener in 1990. As president and CEO, Jim focuses on Field’s long-term strategic plan and ensures that their partners love Field. He is dedicated to enhancing Field’s world-class culture that creates an environment that allows their team members to thrive and that is a competitive advantage in the marketplace. Field’s culture has been recognized by Great Places to Work and Inc. Magazine as being one of the best small places to work in America. The culture at Field is critical to the growth of the company, averaging 19% per year growth since 1990 and has been on Inc. Magazine’s fastest-growing private companies eight times in the past ten years.      

The overall goal of Field’s 10-year strategic plan is to improve lives, and Jim is committed to improving the lives of the Field team members, their families, Field’s customers and suppliers, and the communities in which Field operates. Under Jim’s leadership in 2020, Field created the Do Good Team. This initiative allows their team members to volunteer up to 40 hours per year focusing on charities of interest to them. The focus of this benefit is to allow their team members to spend a significant amount of time volunteering in the communities they operate.

Jim along with Bill Derry founded The Derry Foundation, which supports educational initiatives. The foundation provided funds toward the engineering building at Rock Valley College located in Rockford, Illinois. It also helps fund Rock Valley’s scholarship program. 

Jim is also a current board member and past president of Carpenter’s Place, which provides the tools necessary for rebuilding the lives of the homeless.

Jim served as a Board member and past president of NFDA. Field also is a member of the Mid-West Fastener Association. Jim is involved in Vistage (a CEO peer group that focuses on coaching and best practices) and STP21, which is a best-practices sharing group of distributors from outside the industry.

He is a Six Sigma Black Belt and believes strongly in lean principles to drive efficiency, continuous improvement, and innovation. Jim has a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Illinois.

Jim will receive his award at the Professional Fastener of the Year Virtual Celebration on September 10 at 2:00 PM EST.

Nominations for the next Fastener Professional of the Year award will open in January 2022.